News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/5/2015 1:07:00 PM to 2/13/2015 12:05:03 AM.

News Flash

City of Stevens Point News

Posted on: January 29, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Absentee Voting for Primary

Individuals who wish to vote early for the Spring Primary may vote in-person or by mail. City Clerk John Moe reminds voters that they have two options for voting absentee.

The first option is to vote at the City Clerk’s Office in City Hall, 1515 Strongs Avenue, through February 13. The second option is to submit a written request/application to receive an absentee ballot through the mail.

Hours for voting at the City Clerk’s Office are 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, February 2 through February 13, 2015.

Requests to receive an absentee ballot by mail must be received by the Clerk’s Office no later than 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, February 12. The completed ballot must be postmarked no later than Election Day, Tuesday, February 17 in order for it to be counted.

Clerk Moe reminds residents who have not already registered to vote or those who have either moved or changed their name will need to re-register before they will be allowed to vote.

Applications for absentee ballots and voter registration are available at the Clerk’s Office and on the City’s website.

Please note that there are exceptions for military voters and indefinitely confined electors. Please contact the Clerk’s Office at 715-346-1569 for more information.

Ballots will look different in various voting districts. Districts 1,2,3,4,6,7,8, and 10 have just the primary for Mayor. Districts 5,9, and 11 have the Mayoral primary and an Aldermanic primary.

Candidates for Alderperson in District 5 are Meleesa Johnson, Bryan Van Stippen, and Allen Rasmussen, Jr.

Candidates for Alderperson in District 9 are Mary McComb, Randy Stroik, and Barb Jacob.

Candidates for Alderperson in District 11 are Lloyd Graff, Shaun Morrow, and Jeff Presley.

See a Sample Ballot from District 1

Get More Voting Information
Facebook Twitter Email